Make Your Day

22 Feb

Zella Day’s “1965” is a step back in time, paying tribute to torch singers of the past and present. Honestly the track most closely resembles something Lana Del Rey would put out, especially in its longing, sorrowful, and poetic lyrical content.

“You saw me spinning from the corner of your eye You saw me spinnin’ like it’s 1965 You saw me spinnin’ from the corner of your eye

And you touched my neck You’re a beauty baby child I never had nobody touch me like I’m glass. You had me spinnin’ in the midnight summer grass. I never had nobody touch me like I’m glass. With a moon bird kiss.

Can we go back to the world we had? With a love so sweet it makes me sad Can we go back to the world we had? It’s the world we’ve been dreaming of”
But it also calls to mind the song and vocal stylings of 60’s darling Cilla Black. Part the light verses of “Step Inside Love” and the more powerful, ballad traditions of “You’re My World.” Day has a unique enough voice to make this tune her own, even with all the echoes of other artists.

As it is true with many torch songs, the star here is the singer herself and the lyrics. The instrumentation plays its part to let Zella Day shine. What she is longing for may be a lover or a time past, but it is most definitely a torch song, and much like Lana Del Rey, Day is bringing the genre back where it belongs.

Discography:Zella Day (2014).

Official Website:http://zelladay.com/

Leave a Reply

